28th August 2019

Raphael Wallfisch / John York

6th October 2019 all-day
Wiltshire Music Centre
Wiltshire Music Centre
£22 / £11 U18s + students
Wiltshire Music Centre

A masterful recital by a leading cellist at the height of his powers…

Raphael Wallfisch – cello
John York – piano

CLARKE Rhapsody
BEETHOVEN Cello Sonata in A major Op 69
MARTINU Arabesques
MENDELSSOHN Cello Sonata No 2 in D major

In contrast to some of his other middle period works, Beethoven‘s Sonata in A major written in 1803 looks back to a more restrained classical style but demonstrates clear forward thinking in the way the two instruments act as equal partners in the musical drama. Following in this tradition, Felix Mendelssohn had a lifelong commitment to chamber music and a natural affinity for writing for strings, and his Sonata in D major, which he composed in 1843 for his brother Paul, combines melodic lyricism and instrumental virtuosity to great effect.